Kerry Peresta, Author

Book Three in the Olivia Callahan Suspense series
Latest release available everywhere books are sold.

Mysterious fires. A haunting past. A secret file.

           Three years ago, Olivia Callahan endured an assault that resulted in a devastating brain injury. She survived, but she couldn’t remember anything about her life or who she was. Now, she’s determined to build a bridge between the past she lost and the life she must reclaim.

              When Olivia crosses paths with Private Investigator Tom Stark, she is drawn to the investigative field, and becomes his intern. She finds a heavily redacted, forty-five-year-old file locked in his desk drawer that mentions her mother as a young woman. Why had her mentor hidden the file from her, and why had he never mentioned a case involving her mother?

Click here to discover more about The Torching!

          As Olivia moves forward with her fledgling career, a string of mysterious fires moves through the community, puzzling the Baltimore Arson Investigative Unit. One of the fires strikes Olivia’s beloved farmhouse in rural Maryland. Now, in addition to uncovering the secrets bound within the redacted file, she becomes convinced that the fires happening around the area are disturbing calling cards…and they’re meant for her.

So thrilled when a fan sends me photos like this. Exact words were… “We’ve read all your books! We’re hooked!” Thank you, Mona & Chuck.

Praise for THE TORCHING:

“Kerry Peresta has done it again, giving us Olivia Callahan, a complex heroine, who is strong, yet vulnerable, clear-headed one moment, lost in the terrifying fog of traumatic brain injury the next. In THE TORCHING, we get to ride along as Olivia battles to rebuild, literally and figuratively, her life and her home, while her murky past continues to throw shadows over her present and future. Tightly written, this one’s a heart-pounding page-turner from beginning to end.” – Annette Dashofy, award-winning and USA Today bestselling author of the Zoe Chambers and Detective Honeywell mystery series


After an assault that landed her in a hospital as a Jane Doe two years earlier, Olivia Callahan has regained her speech, movement, and much of the memory she lost due to a traumatic brain injury. The media hype about the incident has faded away, and Olivia is ready to rebuild her life, but her therapist insists she must continue to look back in order to move forward. The only person that can help her recall specifics is her abusive ex-husband, Monty, who is in prison for murder. The thought of talking to Monty makes her skin crawl, but for her daughters’ sake and her own sanity, she must learn more about who she was before the attack.

To purchase The Rising, Book Two, click here!

Just as the pieces of her life start falling into place, she stumbles across the still-warm body of an old friend who has been gruesomely murdered. Her dream of pursuing a peaceful existence is shattered when she learns the killer left evidence behind to implicate her in the murder. The only person that would want to sabotage her is Monty—but he’s in prison! Something sinister is going on, and Olivia is desperate to figure it out. Do all her friends have targets on their backs because she made the tragic decision to marry a sociopath twenty years ago?


“Just what I wanted! I loved the first Olivia Callahan Suspense, The Deadening. I have been waiting a year for the second book in this series to come out. So worth the wait!

You might as well grab a cup of coffee (or tea) and get comfortable in your favorite chair because you’re gonna wanna settle in for the long-haul. You won’t want to stop reading until the endA very character driven story and I love that. I fell in love with Olivia in The Deadening and just loved her even more in this one. It was wonderful seeing my old “friend” again. I loved how much she had grown and continues to change in her recovery.

I thought the author had some pretty clever ways of weaving the previous book with this one, so it didn’t feel like you were reading paragraphs of catch-up. Oh the suspense! Quite a few gasp worthy moments. Olivia was not the only one paranoid, I was suspicious of literally everyone. Time well spent on the edge of my seat. With a very satisfying ending.” -Wall-to-wall Books, reviewer


OLIVIA CALLAHAN’S quiet, orderly life is shattered when she regains consciousness in a hospital and discovers she is paralyzed and cannot remember a thing. The fragmented voices she hears around her help her piece together that an apparent assault landed her in the hospital, but nobody knows who attacked her, or why. Now, in spite of a brain injury that has rewired her personality, Olivia is on a mission to reclaim her life. As clarity surfaces, and she starts to understand who she was, she is shocked. Could she really have been that person? And if so, does she want her old life back?

To purchase The Deadening, Book One, click here.

“A gripping read populated by likable characters. Peresta draws us into a colorful detailed world and makes us care what happens to the people living in it. We root for Olivia as she struggles to regain her memory, her bearings, and the identity she lost long before her injury. Excellent!” – Susan Crawford, Internationally bestselling author of The Pocket Wife and The Other Widow.

Leave a Reply