About Kerry’s Books

The Torching, Book Three in the Olivia Callahan Suspense series releases March 2023.

The Rising, Book Two in the Olivia Callahan Suspense series released Spring, 2022 and is available here!

After an assault that landed her in a hospital as a Jane Doe two years earlier, Olivia Callahan has regained her speech, movement, and much of the memory she lost due to a traumatic brain injury. The media hype about the incident has faded away, and Olivia is ready to rebuild her life, but her therapist insists she must continue to look back in order to move forward. The only person that can help her recall specifics is her abusive ex-husband, Monty, who is in prison for murder. The thought of talking to Monty makes her skin crawl, but for her daughters’ sake and her own sanity, she must learn more about who she was before the attack.

Just as the pieces of her life start falling into place, she stumbles across the still-warm body of an old friend who has been gruesomely murdered. Her dream of pursuing a peaceful existence is shattered when she learns the killer left evidence behind to implicate her in the murder. The only person that would want to sabotage her is Monty—but he’s in prison! Something sinister is going on, and Olivia is desperate to figure it out. Do all her friends have targets on their backs because she made the tragic decision to marry a sociopath twenty years ago?


Praise for THE RISING!

“The Rising’ is the second in the Olivia Callahan series. It is an enthralling sequel to ‘The Deadening’, although it can be read as a stand-alone.

It is two years since the assault that left Olivia with a traumatic brain injury, but questions surrounding her attack still haunt her. Is she being paranoid, or is that a product of her injury? In the process, Olivia learns to face her fears, and attempts to adjust to the changes both in her personality and in her altered relationships with family and friends. The psychological challenges of overcoming her memory loss is, for me, one of the most interesting aspects of this book. Olivia’s determination to find a way forward after a life-changing experience is realistically portrayed and inspirational.” – Laraine Stephens, Author, Reggie da Costa Mysteries

“Peresta’s skill ensures that the central drama of the novel swells around the reader, leaving them to experience the protagonist as her investigator, witness, gossip, judge, friend and foe. An immersive experience. A carefully composed book, with a painter’s eye for details that vivify.   – Coy Hall, author of Grimoire of the Four Imposters and The Hangman Feeds the Jackal


The Deadening, Book One in the Olivia Callahan Suspense series, released March, 2021 and is available here.

Olivia Callahan’s quiet, orderly life is shattered when she regains consciousness in a hospital and discovers she is paralyzed and cannot remember a thing. The fragmented voices she hears around her help her piece together that an apparent assault landed her in the hospital, but nobody knows who attacked her, or why. After a chilling struggle to survive, she awakens from a coma unable to remember what happened to her or anything at all, except she has been told she is an entirely different person. Or is she?

Now, in spite of a brain injury that has rewired her personality, Olivia is on a mission to reclaim her life. As clarity surfaces and she starts to understand who she was, she is shocked. Had she really been that person? And if so, does she want her old life back?

Five Stars!! I couldn’t put it down!

I purchased the Kindle version of Kerry’s new book & read it during a flight to DFW & then a connecting flight from there to Tampa. By the time we arrived in Tampa, I had finished this book. I was actually happy about a long, unexpected delay in Dallas before our second flight. Thank you, Kerry Peresta, for yet another can’t-put-it-down page turner. Fantastic! ~Amazon reviewer


Click to watch Kerry’s author interview with the historic Pat Conroy Center in Beaufort, SC.

Follow me here:

Leave a Reply